Hello!

Hello.

Thank you for reading my blog. There is much to come but for now, let me just say a huge welcome.

As the blog title suggests, I am a teacher who recently found out that I have Asperger’s. Of course, I’ve always had it, as it is a way of thinking that doesn’t just spring upon you…but this realisation has led me to reflect a great deal on my life and suddenly…it all makes a lot more sense to me. Every experience is now viewed in a slightly different light which brings with it happiness, relief, sadness and grief!

As I am now in my 30’s, many of the social issues I experienced as a child have been overcome. However, there are some situations that I find myself in frequently and for some reason, the pattern just keeps on repeating. I am an intelligent person, but there are certain aspects of the world that seem illogical to me. Education is one of those worlds that will forever confuse me…but we will get to that later!

I consider myself a good teacher. In fact, OFSTED (and the vast majority of my observations, book scrutinies etc) deemed me to be outstanding. I suppose I do possess a lot of traits that would support this judgment but I feel uncomfortable with labels. Furthermore, I feel even more uncomfortable when I consider how judgments about teachers are made. Not all people with whom I have worked understand or agree with my methods of teaching, but there is no denying that it gets results.

SLT and OFSTED feel I am an outstanding teacher because of my attention to detail, the evidence of progress in my children’s books, my passionate and exciting lessons, my perfect planning…the list goes on!

However, I believe I am an outstanding teacher because of my empathetic nature, my passion for teaching and learning, my ability to form positive relationships with children and their parents, my spontaneity during lessons…among so many other factors. The skill I am most proud of is not a talent at all…it is merely the fact that I actually ‘care’. The children are ‘people’ to me and I believe strongly in providing nurture, making them ‘want’ to come to school and learn, and empowering them to become confident, independent individuals.

Sadly, the passion I have, or rather had, for teaching has been beaten out of me (I hope, temporarily) by the demands of the education system. I am sad to confess that I am one of many teachers who has thrown in the towel and left the profession. Well, technically I have side stepped away from it…as I am currently working as a supply teacher. It is painful not having ‘my own’ class but I am much happier in terms of decreased workload and the avoidance of ‘school politics’ which are ruthless!

This blog will further explore my experiences as an aspie, a teacher and my life before I entered the profession.

Having Asperger’s has influenced my life in more ways than I could have ever known. I wish that I knew what was ‘wrong’ with me when I was growing up. Would things have been different? Would life have been easier? I guess I’ll never know, but I do believe that your experiences shape you and I can say whole-heartedly that despite everything I have been through, I am a nice, kind and strong individual who was sadly misunderstood and taken advantage of from a very young age.

I hope that you find my posts interesting and even thought provoking. Perhaps they will offer you some comfort if you have ever found yourself in the same situations, or perhaps I can offer some insight into somebody you know or work with.

As Tony Attwood so eloquently explains, “You don’t suffer from Asperger’s, you suffer from other people.”

Please leave a reply...

